The 2.3 series release notes contain important changes in this release series.
- Packages have been updated to the latest bugfix versions.
- Administrators couldn't promote or demote SAML users from the command line.
- Settings downloaded using the management console API couldn't be applied using the management console API.
- An error in the VMware tools configuration caused excessive logging.
- Organization owners could be prompted to sign up for an early access feature that is not part of GitHub Enterprise.
- During an upgrade, checking the validity of the SSL certificate and key could output an error message. There is nothing wrong, but the error message can look scary.
- Suspended user accounts could be created when unauthorized LDAP users attempted to sign in to GitHub Enterprise.
- A failed login attempt caused multiple LDAP authentication failures, which could cause accounts to be locked on the LDAP server side.
- Gist-specific keyboard shortcuts were not shown when you pressed the
? key on Gist pages.
- Clicking on line numbers in the second file of a multi-file Gist would highlight a code line in the first file, if that code line number exists in the first file.
- Repositories that are in an incomplete state, which is a rare problem, can cause the migration to the new repository disk layout to fail.
- Enqueued background jobs are sometimes not purged when a repository is deleted.
- Management console sessions can expire too quickly for Safari users.
- Gist repositories are not garbage collected by the maintenance scheduler.
- Custom firewall rules aren't maintained during an upgrade.
- On a freshly set up GitHub Enterprise without any users, an attacker could create the first admin user.
- The management console settings interface doesn't clearly show if you have previously uploaded certificate files or a private key.
- Images uploaded to issues save with an absolute URL, so they can be broken if the hostname changes.
Deleting a user doesn't delete their gists, which can cause problems with replication.
- In our instructions to merge a pull request on the command line, we show the steps to merge using the Git protocol even when private mode is on. Private mode forces authentication but the Git protocol is unauthenticated so the steps will always fail. We also don't show the steps to merge using SSH.
- We incorrectly redirect to the dashboard if you accessed GitHub Enterprise using an alias while in private mode. This might happen if you set a fully qualified domain name but the subdomain resolves correctly.
- Email can't be sent over TLS when SSL is disabled.
- It is not possible to modify the LDAP DN mapping for a user using the administrator LDAP API.
- When a fork is detached from its repository network by an administrator or by changing visibility, its filesystem path won't be updated on a high availability replica until at least one commit has been pushed. (updated 2015-08-13)
- Updates to Wiki pages by users without a primary email address set throw errors. (updated 2015-08-25)
- Viewing a repository's push log in a web browser displays the warning "Reflog Sync disabled on this repository. Results maybe out of date." This is cosmetic only and does not indicate an issue with the push log or repository storage. (updated 2015-08-28)
- When a member of a team with admin access tries to add a new team member, it fails without an error. Only the Owners team can add new team members. (updated 2015-09-08)
- Viewing raw files in repositories owned by a user or organization named "github" fails with a 400 error. (updated 2015-12-15)
- Trying to add a file to a repository with Subversion 1.9 clients incorrectly detects the file already exists and fails. (updated 2016-01-14)
- Not deleting a user's gists when deleting the user was fixed in 2.3.0. (updated 2015-10-12)
The GitHub Team