The 2.3 series release notes contain important changes in this release series.
- We showed a warning in the site admin that an email address wasn't verified, but email verification is disabled in GitHub Enterprise.
- User profile names containing certain Unicode characters wouldn't display when synced from an LDAP directory.
longpoll service, which provides live updates to Issues and Pull Requests pages, didn't restart properly if it was terminated.
- Logs for some background jobs were not forwarded.
- Double quotes were being stripped from admin SSH keys added via the management console.
- Deploy keys could not be deleted when LDAP Sync was enabled.
ghe-storage-extend command, which resizes the storage volume, could fail with a
Volume group name ghe_storage_* has invalid characters error under some circumstances.
- Several actions of the admin API related to LDAP were not working as documented.
- Kernel and packages have been updated to the latest security versions.
- When a fork is detached from its repository network by an administrator or by changing visibility, its filesystem path won't be updated on a high availability replica until at least one commit has been pushed.
- We incorrectly redirect to the dashboard if you accessed GitHub Enterprise using an alias while in private mode. This might happen if you set a fully qualified domain name but the subdomain resolves correctly.
- Email can't be sent over TLS when SSL is disabled.
Deleting a user doesn't delete their gists, which can cause problems with replication.
- Images uploaded to issues save with an absolute URL, so they can be broken if the hostname changes.
- On a freshly set up GitHub Enterprise without any users, an attacker could create the first admin user.
- The management console settings interface doesn't clearly show if you have previously uploaded certificate files or a private key.
- Management console sessions can expire too quickly for Safari users.
- Gist repositories are not garbage collected by the maintenance scheduler.
- Custom firewall rules aren't maintained during an upgrade.
- Repositories that are in an incomplete state, which is a rare problem, can cause the migration to the new repository disk layout to fail.
- Enqueued background jobs are sometimes not purged when a repository is deleted.
- In our instructions to merge a pull request on the command line, we don't show the steps to merge using SSH.
- Updates to Wiki pages by users without a primary email address set throw errors.
- Viewing a repository's push log in a web browser displays the warning "Reflog Sync disabled on this repository. Results maybe out of date." This is cosmetic only and does not indicate an issue with the push log or repository storage. (updated 2015-08-28)
- When a member of a team with admin access tries to add a new team member, it fails without an error. Only the Owners team can add new team members. (updated 2015-09-08)
- Viewing raw files in repositories owned by a user or organization named "github" fails with a 400 error. (updated 2015-12-15)
- Trying to add a file to a repository with Subversion 1.9 clients incorrectly detects the file already exists and fails. (updated 2016-01-14)
- Not deleting a user's gists when deleting the user was fixed in 2.3.0. (updated 2015-10-12)
The GitHub Team